The North Carolina GlaxoSmithKline Foundation is committed to embracing the entire state through our grant programs. We seek the creative spark that makes a true difference in people's lives by supporting innovative programs promoting the sciences, health and education. Traditional grants, which are over $25,000, are often multi-year commitments that have a broad impact in the state. The Ribbon of Hope grants provide $50,000 to nonprofits to establish or expand local programs. Read more about us in our annual report 2023 Annual Report.

2022 Annual Report

2021 Annual Report

2020 Annual Report

2019 Annual Report

2018 Annual Report

2017 Annual Report

2016 Annual Report

2015 Annual Report

2014 Annual Report

2013 Annual Report

2012 Annual Report

The Foundation also provides the following resources on continuity planning for nonprofits and foundations:

Continuity Planning for Nonprofits Booklet

Continuity Planning for Foundations Booklet

Board of Directors

Foundation Board (back row, l-r) S. Mark Werner, Chairperson Margaret B. Dardess, Past Chairman (late) Robert A. Ingram, Executive Director Marilyn Foote-Hudson, President George B. Abercrombie, (front row) Janice M. Whitaker, Shirley T. Frye, Secretary Paul A. Holcombe Jr., John F.A.V. Cecil, Ran Coble. (Thomas R. Haber, Anne B. Goodnight and Charles A. Sanders and Adrianna L. Carter not pictured.)

The North Carolina GlaxoSmithKline Foundation is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of community leaders.

The Board meets four times a year to consider and award grants. Completed applications must be received by: Jan. 1, April 1, July 1 or Oct. 1 (or the next business day if a weekend or holiday).

Applicants will be notified of the final decision.


  • Marilyn E. Foote-Hudson, Executive Director
  • Emily Moseley, Legal Counsel
  • Melinda Harris, Fiscal Analyst
  • Dawn Lloyd, Program Associate
  • Teressa Harris, Administrative Assistant
  • Media Contact